Foodie Review: MadHatters Tea House & Cafe

Last week was a short one for me. It started off like it normally does with the drive to work on Monday morning, but then my husband and I took off work on Tuesday to help my sister move and while we were at it, we decided to take Wednesday off as well. Let me tell you, that was the best decision we’ve made in a while! There’s nothing like a mid-week day-cation to brighten up your week.

While we did have some errands to run, we also had a blast driving through town in the middle of the day. I don’t know how many of you get the opportunity to drive around your city in the middle of the work week, but living in beautiful San Antonio, we have vowed to do this more often. Eventually, the driving around and errand-running made us hungry so we stopped at a place that we don’t normally think to go to: MadHatter’s on 320 Beauregard St.

I love that you get to pick out your own teacup and saucer!

I loved the feel of the place as soon as I walked in. Upon entering, you’ll see a collection of mismatched chairs and tables and quirky decor. There is a little courtyard area that’s tucked into the building. We would have eaten there if it wasn’t wet from the rain… I’ll have to go back again JUST to have my tea there.

The menu mostly consists of sandwiches, but they have a pretty sizable selection – and for you dessert fans, there’s plenty to choose from too!

One of my favorite things is the “tea for two.” You get a pot of tea, your choice of teacups, and sandwiches and scones served on a three-tiered rack! While we didn’t have that this time around, what we did have, was delicious… and as you can see, I dug in before I thought to take a picture!

This WAS a feta-infused turkey burger on sourdough…

Have you tried MadHatters Tea House & Cafe? What did you think?

Jess Rating: 20 of 25 (Solid score!)

Value: J J J J
Execution: J J J J
Quality: J J J J  – The price per pot of tea is very reasonable!
Taste: J J J J
Ambiance: J J J J – It can get a little too crowded for my taste somtimes.
Madhatters on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

