Part of my CSA this week included a pound of grass-fed beef round steak which I really had no clue what to do with. I came home from work on Wednesday night with no idea what I was going to make for dinner, so true to form, I raided my fridge and freezer to see what I could find and figure out what to make with this (still frozen) chunk of meat.

After some brainstorming (and pantry raiding), I found a package of glass noodles and decided to throw together a stir-fry! Since the meat was still mostly frozen, this made it very easy to get thin slices of meat. If you’ve ever wondered how Asian-food places get the ribbon-thin slicing, that’s the trick – slice the meat while mostly frozen.

Anywho, I sliced up the meat, put some grapeseed oil in a frying pan, and began cooking it up with some salt and pepper for seasoning.

While that was cooking up, I started chopping everything else – onions, sweet potatoes, and squash. Keep in mind that I’m making things up as I go along and am snapping pictures along the way!


Once I had the veggies all cooking up, I added a little bit of garlic and 
veggie broth, then covered it up.

In the mean time, I started to prepare the glass noodles.

A note about glass (or rice) noodles: They are far more delicate than your regular Italian style or Soba noodles. Instead of boiling them in water, you boil water, put the glass noodles in a bowl, then you pour the hot water over the glass noodles and stir them around a bit. You let them sit in the water for about 10-15 minutes until they’re soft and then add them to your dish.

In this case, I added a little wasabi powder to the water just because I could 🙂

After I had the noodles started, I went back to taste my stir fry, and the flavors weren’t right. I added some Bragg’s Liquid Aminos and it still didn’t taste  right, so I added some rice vinegar and tasted it then, I added some paprika, some chili powder, and a little salt and pepper.

I liked the flavor, but decided it needed some kick, so when I added the noodles, I also added a few squirts of Sriracha sauce! I mixed the noodles with the stir fry and covered it up, letting it simmer for about five minutes so that the noodles absorbed the juices (be careful here because if the noodles overcook, they get kind of mushy), then plated it up and had a pretty tasty dinner! Not bad for a recipe made up on the fly!

